Learning to code

I’ve decided to learn to code. When I was a college student, I majored in Music Theory. The musical notes and symbols fascinated me. While the sounds of music may be an international language, music is also a printed language.

As a technical writer, fonts, typefaces, page layout, and other typographical elements fascinate me. I’ve documented code and have written code examples for tutorials. My interest is the way different programming languages express logic, the grammar they use, and their readability. It is the linguistic aspects that interest me.

These interests have led me to learn how to code and to write about it. I am going to start by learning and comparing Python and Ruby. Some of my co-workers have said that I would make a good programmer. Maybe I will.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

FreeCodeCamp – a great way to learn how to code

I love FreeCodeCamp. This site provides an intensive curriculum that teaches you how to code, allow you to earn certificates of completion, all free of charge. You can earn certificates for front end, data visualization, and back end... Continue →